

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

August 31, 2016

Stephanie Deluca Begins Term as the Biophysical Society's 2016-2017 Congressional Fellow

Contact: Ellen Weiss

eweiss@biophysics.org

Rockville, MD — The Biophysical Society (BPS) is pleased to announce that Stephanie Deluca has begun her term as the Society's BPS Congressional Fellow. Deluca will spend a year working in a Congressional office on legislative and policy areas requiring scientific input. She will also be part of the AAAS Science and Technology Fellowship Program, which includes an orientation on congressional and executive branch operations and a year-long seminar series on issues related to science policy. The orientation started today.

DeLuca received her PhD in Chemical and Physical Biology from Vanderbilt University and has served as the Science Policy Fellow at the American Chemical Society (ACS) since September 2014. As for this next step in her career, she is excited about, "working in a fast-paced, high-stakes environment, where the work I do could have a real impact on people."

The Society's leadership decided to offer the fellowship in 2015 in recognition that public policy increasingly impacts scientific research, and basic science literacy is increasingly needed to develop responsible policy. Through the fellowship, the Society's leaders hope to provide a bridge between scientists and policymakers.

Deluca is the Society's second fellow; applications are currently being accepted for the fellowship term that begins August 2017.

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific Society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its 9000 members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry.

OFFICERS

President

Suzanne Scarlata Worcester Polytechnic Institute

President-Elect

Lukas Tamm
University of Virginia

Past-President

Edward Egelman
University of Virginia

Secretary

Frances Separovic
University of Melbourne

Treasurer

Paul Axelsen
University of Pennsylvania

Executive Officer

Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

COUNCIL

Olga Boudker
Jane Clarke
Bertrand Garcia-Moreno
Ruth Heidelberger
Kalina Hristova
Robert Nakamoto
Arthur Palmer
Gabriela Popescu
Joseph D. Puglisi
Michael Pusch
Erin Sheets
Joanna Swain

BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief Leslie Loew

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Awards

Betsy Komives

Early Careers

Bert Tanner

Education

Gina MacDonald

Finance

Paul Axelsen

Inclusion and Diversity

Marina Ramirez-Alvarado

International Relations

Daumantas Matulis

Member Services

Frances Separovic Membership

Juliette Lecomte

Nominating

Erin Sheets

Professional Opportunities

for Women (CPOW)

Gabriela Popescu

Public Affairs

Edward Egelman

Publications

Olaf Anderson

Thematic Meetings Richard Aldrich